Larry Lane Trail

Larry Lane Trail, Portola Valley

I am always on the lookout for good, dog friendly hikes on the peninsula. On President’s Day I discovered Larry Lane Trail in Portola Valley and loved it. It is a little like Pulgas Ridge but it is a much more moderate hike. The 1.75 mile trail gently climbs into the Sierra Morena Mountains to a vista with spectacular views of the Peninsula. There are several benches along the trail and a picnic area about halfway up.

Larry Lane Trail, Portola Valley

The trail begins along Hayfields Road near Portola Road and winds up along the Portola Valley/Woodside town border. There are a series of switchbacks in the lower portion of the trail but the incline is not steep. The trail emerges into the hayfields near Russell Avenue in Woodside Highlands.

Larry Lane Trail, Portola Valley

There are patches of fragrant Narcissus and fields of green grass along the trail.  As the trail ascends it becomes shaded and the brush grows thick with poison oak.  Dogs are required to be on leash on the trail.  Generally I hate to put my dog on a leash while hiking but on this trail it is a good idea.  As much as I love my dog to be free I didn’t want to have to deal with ticks and poison oak when I got home.  

What are your favorite dog friendly hikes on the peninsula?  Pulgas Ridge and Larry Lane are the best hikes I have found. 

Published in: on February 20, 2008 at 5:29 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://djunawoods.wordpress.com/2008/02/20/larry-lane-trail/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I have been on this trail too – very unused. Easy access. My doggie was with me and he was smart enough to stay on the trail as the poison oak was plentiful. Love your site.


Leave a Reply

