Composting Canine Waste

I spoke with someone yesterday who had built a dog waste compost in her backyard.  Although I have never considered doing this, I thought perhaps some of you might be interested. Not being a do-it-yourself kind of gal I had to borrow the information from an expert.  The folks at City Farmer have developed an easy method using an old plastic garbage can which allows the waste to slowly decompose in the yard in an environmentally safe manner. Here’s a step-by-step description:

  1. Take an old garbage can and drill a dozen or so holes in the side.
  2. Cut out the bottom.
  3. Dig a hole in the ground, deep enough for the garbage can.
  4. Toss some rocks or gravel in the hole for drainage and position the garbage can so it’s a little higher than the soil level.
  5. Place the lid on top (you might want to paint it with something like Dog Waste Composter.)
  6. When you scoop some poop, put it in the hole and sprinkle in some septic starter (available at hardware stores) and add some water.
The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://djunawoods.wordpress.com/2008/03/19/canine-composting/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That sounds like a good idea. I think I’ll try it. I’ve often thought of a doggy compost, as I compost every other carbon-based bit of waste in our household, but didn’t know how to go about it. It’s the idea of the septic starter that sounds interesting. I’ll have to see if I can get that here in Oz. I’m intending to mention your good idea on my own blog. I hope that is okay.

  2. Djuna, thanks for visiting me. I’ve just discovered your blog and I’ll be marking it so I can check it out each day. You’ve covered some interesting matters and I’m fascinated with the idea of a real estate agent who has such a good understanding of the needs of dog owners.
    If I were changing houses it would be a vital question I would ask. For instance, where I live in Melbourne in Australia, our suburb, quite near the centre of a city of nearly 4 million people, is famous for having deadly snakes all over the place. People are paying huge prices to live here because my street runs down to a cliff that overlooks a parkland but they don’t stop to ask what is the death-rate of dogs living along that cliff-top. I’ll bet if you were the estate agent here you’d tell them! It’s huge!


Leave a Reply

